History 0

The Franklin J. Schaffner Alumni Medal is awarded annually to an alumnus of either the AFI Conservatory or the AFI Directing Workshop for Women, who best embodies the qualities of the late director: talent, taste, dedication and commitment to quality filmmaking. Established by Schaffner's widow, Jean, in 1991, the Alumni Medal celebrates the recipient's extraordinary creative talents and artistic achievements.


1991 David Lynch
1992 Edward Zwick
1993 Randa Haines
1994 Martin Brest
1995 Jon Avnet
1996 Carl Franklin
1997 John McTiernan
1998 Amy Heckerling
1999 Mimi Leder
2000 Terrence Malick
2001 Darren Aronofsky
2002 Todd Field
2003 John Dahl
2004 Patty Jenkins
2005 Paul Schrader
2006 Marshall Herskovitz
2007 Gary Winick
2008 Mark Waters
2009 Steve Golin
2010 Janusz Kamiński
2011 Steven Rosenblum
2012 Wally Pfister
2013 Stuart Cornfeld

AFI Membership
AFI honoring the year best in television and film