2012 Shirley MacLaine Tribute

The 40th AFI Life Achievement Award was presented to Shirley MacLaine at a Gala Tribute on June 7, 2012, at Sony Pictures Studios in Los Angeles, California. The Tribute special aired on TV Land on June 24, 2012.

At the Gala Tribute, more than 1,000 guests and presenters gathered to celebrate MacLaine. Presenters included Warren Beatty, Dakota Fanning, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Katherine Heigl, U.S. Representative Dennis Kucinich, Elizabeth McGovern, Senator George McGovern, Don Rickles, Julia Roberts and John Travolta. The evening was peppered with video tributes from the likes of Mikhail Baryshnikov, Jack Black, James L. Brooks, Stephen Hawking, Goldie Hawn, Nicole Kidman, 2010 AFI Life Achievement recipient Mike Nichols and Charlize Theron. The AFI Life Achievement Award was presented to MacLaine by Meryl Streep.